North East Line

The North East Line is the third line to be introduced into the MRT system and is coloured purple on the system map. SBS Transit is currently operating this line.

It is the world's first fully automated and driverless underground rapid transit line at 19.2km with 16 stations.

The line provides a direct connection from the North East corridor to the city, passing through key places of interests such as HarbourFront, Chinatown, Dhoby Ghaut and Little India, and through residential towns of Serangoon, Hougang, Sengkang and Punggol.

It is also the pioneering system in the world to utilise a radio CBTC system.

The North East Line is the first line to feature Art in Transit across all 16 stations.

At a Glance

North East Line

First opened 20 June 2003

19.2km with 16 stations

High capacity line with 6-car trains

Fully-automatic train operation

Line operated by SBS Transit

Line diagram

NEL line diagram

Rolling stock



Javascript is required for this section to function correctly.

Choose a station

Select a station from the list to view information about the station.


Initial stages

Supposedly to be opened in December 2002, it was delayed due to technical issues with the system. The line officially opened on 20 June 2003 with 14 stations from HarbourFront to Punggol.

Buangkok and Woodleigh stations remained closed as the area around the two stations were relatively undeveloped.

Buangkok Station

Buangkok station opened three years later on 15 January 2006 after much pressure from the public. Ridership at this station was lower than expected, resulting in operating losses for this station in the initial years.

Woodleigh Station

With new developments around Woodleigh station, and the increase of ridership from the opening of the Circle Line, the final station of the line opened on the eighth anniversary of the North East Line, 20 June 2011.

Line extensions

North East Line Extension (future)

The North East Line will be extended 2km northwards with Punggol Coast station by 2023, serving the Northshore District, Punggol Point District and Punggol Digital District. It will also serve Singapore's pilot Enterprise District comprising of JTC Corporation's mixed-use developments and also the new campus from Singapore Institute of Technology. The extension will be opened in tandem with the developments around the area.


Date Project Description
20 June 2003 North East Line HarbourFront - Punggol (14 stations)
15 January 2006 North East Line Opening of Buangkok station between Hougang and Sengkang
20 June 2011 North East Line Opening of Woodleigh station between Potong Pasir and Serangoon
2023 North East Line Extension Punggol - Punggol Coast (1 station)
Future Future stations between existing stations NE2 station between HarbourFront and Outram Park

Facts + Figures

High capacity Mass Rapid Transit (MRT)
Stations / Length
16 stations / 19.2km (currently operational)
HarbourFront to Punggol - 19.2km
North East Line Extension (future) - 1 station / ~2km
Sengkang Depot
Train Length
6 cars
Track Gauge
Standard gauge (1435mm)
1500V DC from overhead catenary
Operation Type
Fully-automated operation
Signalling System
Moving-block Alstom Urbalis 300 CBTC