Downtown Line

The Downtown Line (DTL) — colloquially known as the 'blue line' — is the fifth MRT line to be introduced to the train network and is coloured blue on the system map.

This fully-underground MRT line is currently operated by SBS Transit Ltd. and is designed to be a medium-capacity radial rapid transit line.

The DTL opened in three stages in 2013, 2015 and 2017, with a 2.2km extension from Expo to Sungei Bedok, linking with the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL), slated for completion in 2025.

Spanning 41.9km with 34 stations from northwest to eastern Singapore, the DTL boasts of being the world's longest fully underground and automated rapid transit line.

The line serves as an alternative to the East-West Line (EWL), running parallel from Bugis to Tampines, and provides commuters in the Bukit Timah region with new access to the train network.

Utilising Invensys' Sirius Communications-Based Train Control (CBTC) signalling system, DTL trains are capable of fully-automated operations and can run without any train attendant on board.

The Art in Transit (AIT) programme is integrated across all stations. The artworks at Beauty World, Jalan Besar and Expo stations were selected through the Downtown Line AIT competition.

At a Glance

Downtown Line

First opened 22 December 2013

41.9km with 34 stations

Medium-capacity line with 3-car trains

Fully-automatic train operation

The Downtown Line (DTL) is operated by SBS Transit.


Line Diagram

Downtown Line (DTL) Line Diagram

Stage 3 Extension: DT36 Xilin and DT37 Sungei Bedok stations are currently not in operation.
DT4 Hume station is currently not in operation.

Rolling Stock




Javascript is required for this section to function correctly.

Choose a station

Select a station from the list to view information about the station.



Merging the Downtown Extension, Bukit Timah and Eastern Region MRT lines

Downtown Extension

The Downtown Extension (DTE) project, which it subsequently finalised to become the first stage of the DTL, was announced on 14 June 2005.

It was planned as a 3.4-km long extension with five stations, linking Promenade and Chinatown stations.

Bukit Timah Line

The second stage of the DTL was unveiled on 23 Oct 2001, initially conceptualised as a 20-kilometre-long rapid transit line known as the Bukit Timah Line (BTL).

It would have served the Bukit Panjang, Upper Bukit Timah and Bukit Timah regions.

Eastern Region Line

The Eastern Region Line (ERL) was also unveiled on 23 Oct 2001 as a 40-km long rectangular line linking Tampines, Bedok, Marine Parade and Kaki Bukit.

The northern section of the ERL has now become part of the third stage of the DTL.

Downtown Line 1

The 4.3-km long Downtown Line 1 (DTL1), consisting of six stations from Bugis to Chinatown, began construction on 12 February 2008.

It subsequently opened for passenger service on 22 December 2013, allowing passengers to travel within the city area conveniently.

Isolated from the Gali Batu Depot (GBD), the Marina Bay Temporary Maintenance Facility (MBTMF) adjacent to Marina Bay station will provide non-complex rolling stock maintenance activities before DTL2 opens.

Downtown Line 2

The 15.3-km long Downtown Line 2 (DTL2), with 1.3km of track to GBD, began construction on 3 July 2009.

The DTL2 consisted of 12 stations and had started construction a year late due to insolvency issues, though its opening was pushed forward to 2015.

It opened for passenger service on 27 December 2015, connecting Bukit Panjang to Bugis, passing through Beauty World, Botanic Gardens, Newton and Little India stations, benefitting commuters travelling from the Bukit Timah region.

Downtown Line 3

The 21-km long Downtown Line 3 (DTL3), comprising 16 stations from Chinatown to Expo, began construction on 28 November 2011.

The DTL3 connects the eastern corridor, intersecting with the Circle Line (CCL) and the EWL at MacPherson, Tampines and Expo stations.

It opened for passenger service on 21 October 2017, becoming the world's longest fully underground and fully automated rapid transit line, with over 34 stations across 41.9 kilometres.

Line Extensions

Downtown Line 3 Extension

The 2.2-km long Downtown Line 3 Extension (DTLe), comprising two stations that linking Expo to Xilin and Sungei Bedok, began construction on 21 July 2016.

It will connect to the future four-in-one East Coast Integrated Depot (ECID) and the TEL.

The extension is expected to be completed by 2025.

Hume Station

Situated between Hillview and Beauty World stations, the Hume station will be the first time in Singapore an underground station has been added to an already-operational train line.

This was made possible with a station box already constructed during the DTL2, simplifying the process, where only retrofitting works needed to be made.

Construction work for the Hume station began on 28 February 2021 and is expected to be opened for passenger service by 2025.

Downtown Line 2 Extension

In the Land Transport Master Plan 2040, announced by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) on 25 May 2019, the DTL will be extended north from Bukit Panjang.

It will connect with the North-South Line (NSL) at the future Sungei Kadut station between Yew Tee and Kranji stations.

The extension is expected to be completed by 2040.

Timeline of Events

Date Project Description
22 December 2013 Stage 1 Bugis - Chinatown (6 stations)
27 December 2015 Stage 2 Bugis - Bukit Panjang (12 stations)
21 October 2017 Stage 3 Chinatown - Expo (16 stations)
2025 Stage 3 Extension Expo - Sungei Bedok (2 stations)
2025 Hume Station Hume station between Hillview and Beauty World
By 2040 Stage 2 Extension Sungei Kadut - Bukit Panjang


Facts + Figures

Medium capacity Mass Rapid Transit (MRT)
Stations / Length
34 stations / 41.9km (currently operational)
Bukit Panjang to Expo - 41.9km
Stage 3 Extension (future) - 2 stations / 2.2km
Kim Chuan Depot
Gali Batu Depot
East Coast Integrated Depot (future)
Train Length
3 cars
Track Gauge
Standard gauge (1435mm)
750V DC from third rail
Operation Type
Fully-automated operation
Signalling System
Moving-block Invensys Sirius CBTC & Rail 9000 ATS