More than 228km of track span across the island, connecting 157 stations on 5 MRT and 3 LRT lines. Together, over 3.3 million trips are made daily across Singapore's rail network.

The North South Line and East West Line were the first two Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) lines in Singapore.

The rail network later expanded, with extensions to existing lines, the Light Rail Transit (LRT) lines in Bukit Panjang, Sengkang and Punggol, then the fully automated underground lines: the North East Line, Circle Line, and Downtown Line.

In the coming years, several new lines and stations will open, the Thomson-East Coast Line, Jurong Region Line, Cross Island Line, Canberra station on the North South Line, the sixth stage of the Circle Line, the North East Line extension to Punggol Coast and the Downtown Line 3 Extension.

Future Lines

New rail lines have been planned to be built in the next 15 years. These pages will provide a brief overview of the line history and its proposed alignment. The actual alignment of these lines have not been finalised yet.

Johor Bahru-Singapore RTS Link

Rapid Transit System Link connecting Bukit Chagar (Johor Bahru, Malaysia) and TE1 Woodlands North (Singapore)

Expected to be completed by December 2024

Train Network Map

Download: PNG | PDF