Sengkang LRT

The Sengkang LRT is the second LRT line to be introduced into the LRT system. It is fully automated and driverless at 10.7km long with 14 stations, forming a butterfly loop around the estate's eastern and western sectors. SBS Transit currently operates this line.

Sengkang station serves as an interchange between the east loop, west loop and the North East Line.

There are six stations on the east loop, and nine stations on the west loop, both inclusive of Sengkang station. Trains run in both directions for both loops.

During peak hours, some trains will run in a 2-car formation instead to increase the capacity on the line.


At a Glance

Sengkang LRT

First opened 18 January 2003

10.7km with 14 stations

Light rail line with 1-car or 2-car trains

Fully-automatic train operation

Line operated by SBS Transit

Line diagram

Sengkang LRT (SKLRT) Line Diagram

Rolling stock



Javascript is required for this section to function correctly.

Choose a station

Select a station from the list to view information about the station.



East Loop

All 6 stations on the east loop commenced service on 18 January 2003 and trains run in both directions throughout the day.

West Loop

The west loop, except Cheng Lim, Farmway and Kupang stations, opened on 29 January 2005, two years after the east loop. Trains ran in the anti-clockwise direction before 3pm, and in the clockwise direction after 3pm. Farmway station later opened on 15 November 2007.

The west loop was then modified to run in both directions on 4 January 2010 during peak hours to cater to the peak period crowd. When Cheng Lim station opened on 1 January 2013, trains on the west loop runs in both directions throughout the day.

The final station of the Sengkang LRT, Kupang station, opened on 27 June 2015.

Infrastructure upgrades

Signalling Upgrade and Modification for 2-Car Trains

To increase the capacity on the Sengkang and Punggol LRT during peak hours, 16 of the existing single car trains will be modified to be coupled for 2-car operations. As the system was not originally designed with dual-car service, modifications are required to the signalling system and trains.

Works began in mid-2013, and the upgraded signalling system for the Sengkang LRT commenced on 27 September 2015. The two-car system was tested during off-peak hours from 21 December 2015, and the modification was completed on 5 January 2016, with eight two-car trains on the Sengkang LRT during peak hours. From 1 April 2017, two-car trains were also deployed on the west loop throughout the day on weekends and public holidays.


Date Project Description
18 January 2003 East Loop Opening of Sengkang, Compassvale, Rumbia, Bakau, Kangkar and Ranggung stations
29 January 2005 West Loop Opening of Thanggam, Fernvale, Layar, Tongkang and Renjong stations
15 November 2007 West Loop Opening of Farmway station
4 January 2010 West Loop Sengkang LRT West Loop runs in both directions during peak hours
1 January 2013 West Loop Opening of Cheng Lim station
Sengkang LRT West Loop runs in both directions throughout the day
27 June 2015 West Loop Opening of Kupang station
27 September 2015 Signalling Upgrade Completion of the upgraded signalling system on the Sengkang LRT
5 January 2016 Modification for 2-Car Trains Completion of the modification for 2-car trains on the Sengkang LRT

Facts + Figures

Light Rail Line (LRT)
Stations / Length
14 stations / 10.7km (currently operational)
East Loop - 4.5km
West Loop - 6.2km
Sengkang Depot
Train Length
1-2 cars
Track Gauge
Broad gauge (1850mm)
Guide Rail Span
750V DC from power rail
Operation Type
Fully-automated operation
Signalling System
Fixed-block Kyosan APM Signalling ATC